397 receive loyalty service medals

Posted on 25 Apr 2013
Source of News: Borneo Post Online, 25 April 2013

SIBU: Deputy Resident Dr Zufar Yadi Brendan Abdullah led the list of 379 recipients of the loyalty service medal (pingat perkhidmatan setia) from Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud yesterday.

Zufar and Abdul Rahman Ahmad Fauzan were the only two recipients of the medal from Sibu’s Resident and District Office respectively.

The state Education Department had the most number of recipients with 92, followed by the state Health Department at 58.

Sibu Municipal Council (SMC) and Public Works Department had 32 recipients each.

The Royal Malaysian Police had 30 recipients while state Fire and Rescue Department, Sibu Water Board and Kanowit District Council had 26 each.

The other recipients were Sarawak Agriculture Department (19); Welfare Department (10); Sibu Rural District Council (eight); and Land and Survey Department (18).

The medals were given to civil servants who have served continuously for 20 years or 25 collective years in service.

They must also show a high level of service delivery and have the support of the heads of departments.

In addition, they must be free from any investigation by MACC and no disciplinary record.

Among those present were Minister of Local Government and Community Development and Second Finance Minister Dato Sri Wong Soon Koh and State Secretary Tan Sri Datuk Amar Morshidi Abdul Ghani.